I am That…

 
ASSOCIATION WITH SADHUS

The wise ones will shun the company of those inveterate disputants who babble empty and useless words because they have not subdued themselves through the knowledge of the path of dharma, and have not steadfastly focused on the ideal of life by cherishing it within.
Guru Vachaka Kovai v 328

Many are the evils [that arise] if one associates with crazy fools with confused minds who babble with their ‘holy’ mouths. Know that only association with those in whom the mind has died and pure mauna shines is excellent association.
Guru Vachaka Kovai v 329

O Mind! Sever quickly and completely the painful connection with the ignoble people who utter ruinous lies and who comfort themselves in an improper way. Reach and associate with those [jnanis] who are abiding in the state of tranquility, free of restlessness.
Guru Vachaka Kovai v 330

Muruganar : Sri Ramana has expressed similar sentiments about associating with worldly minded people in Aksharamanamalai verse 20:

Saving me from the cruel power of those who are [like hunters] with their sharp swords and cunning snares, bestow your grace liberally, O Arunachala, and unite with me.
“ASSOCIATION WITH SADHUS The wise ones will shun the company of those inveterate disputants who babble empty and useless words because they have not subdued themselves through the knowledge of the path of dharma, and have not steadfastly focused on the ideal of life by cherishing it within. Guru Vachaka Kovai v 328 Many are the evils [that arise] if one associates with crazy fools with confused minds who babble with their ‘holy’ mouths. Know that only association with those in whom the mind has died and pure mauna shines is excellent association. Guru Vachaka Kovai v 329 O Mind! Sever quickly and completely the painful connection with the ignoble people who utter ruinous lies and who comfort themselves in an improper way. Reach and associate with those [jnanis] who are abiding in the state of tranquility, free of restlessness. Guru Vachaka Kovai v 330 Muruganar : Sri Ramana has expressed similar sentiments about associating with worldly minded people in Aksharamanamalai verse 20: Saving me from the cruel power of those who are [like hunters] with their sharp swords and cunning snares, bestow your grace liberally, O Arunachala, and unite with me.”
 
I am that he speaks of. I am the asura, the ‘inveterate disputant’ of which he speaks…if I let my ego have its way.
 
I am that ‘crazy fool with a confused mind.’ I am air, and if I let my unbalanced doshas and unstable, chattering mind rule me, I am beyond confused…I am caught in the grip of ignorance.
 
I am one of those ‘ignoble people who utter ruinous lies and who comfort themselves in an improper way. ‘ Yet I seek liberation from my ignorance.
 
I am filled with ‘the cruel power of those who are [like hunters] with their sharp swords and cunning snares,’ I am also seeking freedom from that power, seeking transformation in the Divine Light and in the healing grace of Bhakti.
 
I am the demon, the asura of which the sages speak. My name is Legion…my name is Ego.
 
I….my….I am….
 
free me from that, I pray
One thought on “I am That…

Leave a Reply

